Our City’s City Council consists of six Council Members elected by ward. The elected council members serve two year terms.

The mayor is an elected official. The Mayor serves four year terms.


The Mayor serves as a member and presiding officer of the Council. In addition to officiating at all City ceremonial functions, the Mayor takes the active role in promoting the City. The Mayor also plays a key role in appointing members of the Planning Board, Civil Service Commission and Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee, among others. The Mayor serves four year terms.

City Council

The City Council, is given certain specific duties: to vote as the voice of the people, to approve the budget, and vote on resolutions and ordinances. A majority vote of the Council is required to pass such ordinances. Council Members serve two year terms.


Comments are closed.

Close Search Window